## I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUAHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

Introduced

JAHAN

JUL 22 7005

Gidtson

Resolution No. 93(40

Introduced by

F. B. AGUON, JR

Relative to honoring, commending and congratulating the Guam Bayanihan Sports Association on their 30<sup>th</sup> Anniversary for all their dedication, support and contribution in creating a sport environment for the Filipino Community promoting brotherhood and friendship, and further extend a *Dangkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'ase* and *Maraming Salamat Po* for its continuing commitment and dedication to the Filipino Community of Guam and the people of Guam.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Guam Bayanihan Sports Association (GBSA), was incorporated in 1974 as a non-profit organization. The organization promoted basketball for the Filipino Community which was named the Philippine Independence Basketball Tournament; and

WHEREAS, to be able to become a participant of the prestigious basketball league, it required that the individual have at least thirty percent (30%) Filipino blood; and

WHEREAS, the organization through the basketball league served as a source of pride for many in the island's Filipino Community, and has done much to help newcomers to the island feel at home; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Bayanihan Sports Association has exhibited positive ideals to its members, players and the community and encouraged support, goodwill and good sportsmanship throughout the years; and

WHEREAS, in the early eighties(80's), the Philippine Independence Basketball Tournament become recognized as the Philippine Amateur Basketball League (PABL); and

WHEREAS, for the last decade, the organization which consist of the following Board Members for 2005, Ebbs Baldoz, Cynthia Moises, Connie Toledo, Fe Singh, Lody Saitanan, Precy Dauglash, Nelie Pascual, Annie Tanedo and Shirley Trinidad along with the Officers, Bobby Zamora, President; Jimmy Asperas, Vice President; Roma Basa, Secretary; Diony Tanedo, Treasurer; Ebbs Baldoz, Assistant Treasurer; Baby Asperas, Auditor; Cynthia Moises, Assistant Auditor; Glenda Mitchell, Public Relations Officer; Connie Toledo, Public Relation Officer II; Phil Mitchell, Business Manager; Fe Singh, Assistant Business Manager; and Peace Officers, Dan Romulo, Mar Moises, Lody Saitanan, and Precy Dauglash, agreed and decided that the League will give the opportunity and support to all the sportsman on Guam and help the community for a better relation between all races that live on Guam; and

WHEREAS, the PABL is now open to people of various ethnic background that want to play competitive basketball and has become the island's biggest varsity league. This goal will continue to excel and enforce the philosophy of promoting brotherhood and friendship through the participants and through the people of Guam; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina' Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, hereby honor, commend and congratulate the Guam Bayanihan Sports Association on their 30<sup>th</sup> Anniversary for all their dedication, support and contribution in creating a sport environment for the Filipino Community promoting brotherhood and friendship, and further extend a *Dangkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'ase* and *Maraming Salamat Po* for its continuing commitment and dedication to the Filipino Community of Guam and the People of Guam; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Bayanihan Sports Association; to the 2005 Board of Directors Office; to the 2005 Officers Office; to the Honorable F. Philip Carbullido, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Guam; to the Honorable Madeleine Z. Bordallo, Member of Congress, U. S. House of Representatives; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY <i>I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÂHAN</i> ON THE 30 <sup>TH</sup> DAY OF JULY 2005.	
MARK FORBES	EDWARD J.B. CALVO
Speaker	Senator and Secretary of the Legislature